Polish Deli Delights

It's been a pretty fruitful and constructive 24 hours, to be honest . Yesterday morning was quite irritating with a tricky meeting at work, but from lunchtime yesterday things looked up a bit, and that's carried through until early afternoon today, when I'm taking a break to blip before returning to the grant writing process for the rest of the day.

I'm going to be on TV! No, actually not (and anyway I've done it before and it's pretty much overrated), but as part of the process of disseminating the work we are doing in one of my projects we are preparing a short video trailer, and hope and expect to make a longer documentary over the next couple of years. Yesterday afternoon I was involved a bit in the filming, and it turned out to be less fraught that I expected. I'm looking forward to seeing the results.

That was followed by a pleasant afterwork drink with the other dungeon dwellers located on my new corridor, who obviously know how to party, and a quick pizza before heading home. This morning my sleep was disturbed early by the awareness of the amount of work I still have to do on my grant proposal, but I got a nice chunk done before we headed out to the blue and yellow place. The place where there are solutions to problems you didn't know you had, until you reached in your pocket and found your credit card. In fact, I managed to restrain myself from buying anything unexpected or unwanted, and meanwhile we identified a sofa bed that we think we will buy for the spare room. They did disappoint, however, in not having any cafetieres.

We dropped the bits and pieces (lights, mainly) at work, and then headed to the Polish deli for supplies for lunch. There is nothing like going in a shop with a smell of fresh bread, and indeed picking up bread from the shelf that is still warm, to get the taste buds humming, so we headed home for an early lunch where I discovered - after only 10 years together - that my other half doesn't like open sandwiches. Really doesn't like open sandwiches. Oh well, he ate what I gave him anyway.

The supermarket shop can be put off. A neighbour dropped us an email last night saying the lift - missing in action since early November - should be back up and running by Monday evening. To say I am looking forward to this is an understatement, even though I appreciate that lugging my bike up to the four floor every evening is actually good for me. It just doesn't usually feel like that at the end of a long day. Especially if there is a bottle of wine in the pannier.

I don't think I'll be very active on Blip until the work stress diminishes. I feel like I'm all out of comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.