earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Guard Sheep

The worst of the cold symptoms have abated today but I've been left with very little energy. Took to bed early and slept like a baby for a full nine hours. I wish I could say it was wonderful, but I always tend to wake up feeling really groggy if I sleep for longer than normal. I don't know if that is a common experience or not. Do other people find the same? I know it must have been good for me, but it's just that it never feels like it!

In response to a comment yesterday I said that I didn't really want to do without sleep completely because there is something rather wonderful about collapsing into a bed and letting tiredness completely envelop you. Without sleep there would be nothing to mark the end of one day and the beginning of the next. Each and every day would just coalesce into one overwhelming continuum of experience. But wouldn't it be so amazingly wonderful if we could stay up until 4am, fall into bed exhausted, drift easily into the deepest of sleep, to be able to wake up quite naturally and fully rejuvenated at 7am ready for the new day to begin. You'd just think that 3 hours should be plenty of time to recharge whatever it is in our heads that needs to be recharged. How I wish!

We know so much about the universe, all the way from the quantum level right out to the furthest reaches of the universe, but as to the deeper workings of our brain we still know so very little. In a way, though, I'm rather glad about that. The things we don't know about are far more interesting than the things we do! We need mysteries in our world.

It's been blowing a gale here all day today, with lots of showers. I probably wouldn't have ventured out if it wasn't for blipping. But I'm glad I did even though it was hard to take pictures. This was my favourite today, to the extent that I had to spend a fair bit of time removing marks caused because of raindrops on the lens. It at least enabled me to learn some new techniques in Photoshop.

You might remember this little house from The House of the Hermit, one of my most popular ever blips.

PS We watched the pilot of a new TV series last Tuesday, called "Suits". We loved it. A very classy new legal comedy drama from the States. Quite quirky with great chemistry between the main characters. It's showing again at 8pm and 9pm tonight on Dave. Worth a look if you have that channel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.