Camera-Shy

By shy

Flies

A strange sort of day today - workmen put a bucket though a main feeder cable, so the area was out of electricity for an hour or so. It's times like this that we realise just how much we depend on computers. Work came to a total standstill, apart from the obligatory filing that one does on these occasions. There was a time in days gone by when we would have lit the candles and just carried on working with our pen and ink and ledgers. What we also realise, is just how reliant we are on the kettle too. Over an hour without a brew is more than anyone can bear. We are still in the mire as all our files are on the server and the server is down. It has four-hour battery backup, but it went "pop" due to overheating. (aircon not working - something to do with a power cut)

Having "accidentally" stolen flick's 1.8 prime lens, I have been instructed to use it. I have to say it's a revelation. I was happy with nearly every shot I took (yes I do have standards - low , but still standards). The plastic build and the noisy AF is a joke. When I use MF (which I found I had to do as the dof was so shallow) it's sticky in places and smooth in others. BUT, the optics are superb and the advantages of a fast lens far outweigh any cosmetic drawbacks. This has to be the greatest value-for-money lens in the history of the planet.
I might have to consider getting one of my own.

Backloaded Assignment blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.