Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Watering Can

I've been threatening to blip Watts Gallery for a while and today we set off on a mission to do just that. Mission failed.

Never mind, we had a cup of tea and a wedge of carrot cake in this lovely tea room that used to be the workshop of Mary Watts. Maybe that should have been today's blipfoto.

But we called briefly at the Watts Chapel a hundred yards down the road. There are some nice art works there (featured in the mission failed blog above) and they too could have been my blip. Outside I took a little stroll around the graveyard - yet more opportunities. There's an interesting loggia and I was just walking past it when out of the corner of my, set back in an alcove on a slatted wooden bench I saw a watering can. I have a thing about watering cans and taps and here also, for good measure, was a nice cast iron valve. So I snapped it many times and it took on a glow from the sun that was falling back near the horizon.

I knew this was going to my blip although when I got back I was torn between that and the cafe. I'd be the first to agree that people are always more interesting than inanimate objects. But, I dunno, I guess I'm just a sucker for watering cans and damp wood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.