There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Pine Trees After Snow

The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago. The second best time to plant a tree is today. - John Morgan.

We got about another six inches of snow overnight Friday into Saturday, on top of the three or so inches from Thursday night. It's starting to look like winter here.

These are a few of the small snow-covered pine trees in my front yard. I planted all of these little trees myself, most of them in spring 2005, after a whole bunch of trees fell on my house during a January ice storm, terrorizing me for a night (I was alone in the house at the time), knocking out the power for several days, and ruining half my roof.

About two weeks after that happened, I got an offer in the mail from the Arbor Day Foundation. Thinking it was somehow meant to be, and hoping to restore the balance to my acre, I bought and planted quite a few trees to replace the ones that fell.

Sadly, many that I planted didn't make it; who knew how hard it would be to get a little tree to grow? In nature it just seems to happen by accident.

These seem to be doing quite well. In fact, in the snow, they almost seem like Christmas trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.