Paired....

Firstly thanks for all the support yesterday - it is a difficult time of year and I know that my mood is very affected by the weather. The sunshine today made me feel a lot better, and I actually managed to finish a report, take the dogs out, go to an afternoon meeting and cook a Chinese meal with Ben to celebrate the dawn of the Year of the Dragon. However, after dinner my energy levels crashed and so I haven't got around to looking at anyone's journals :(

Ben has now gone down with the dreaded cold, and is sneezing his head off . I'm wondering whether Alex's illness was actually a different virus, as I now feel as though I might be fighting off another cold. I shall be glad when spring arrives properly and I can spend more time out of doors and away from everybody's germs!!

But it gets nearer every day...There was definitely more bird song on my walk this morning, and in sheltered corners the sun felt quite warm. The waterfowl are definitely pairing up and beginning to look for nesting sites. These two mallard have taken up residence on a reedy pond, and I photographed them through a veil of reeds, which provide a soft beige frame.

I remember reading a wildlife photographer commenting that male mallard are the most attractive of British birds, but are often overlooked because they are so common. This breeding plumage of this fine male was positively dazzling in the morning sun!

Behold the duck.
It does not cluck.
A cluck it lacks.
It quacks.
It is specially fond
Of a puddle or pond.
When it dines or sups,
It bottoms ups.

Ogden Nash

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.