EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

In the back of a pick up truck with Farhar....

He had his eye on me the whole journey and nuzzled my hand all the way home.

Farhar, a 3 year old stallion, Abrahim and myself, travelled in the back of an arabeya from Minshar to Gezira (Extremely fast I might add, I think I can honestly say it was the first time I experienced G-Force...not a pretty site!)

The sun was setting quickly over the Nile as we crossed from East to West, the air temperature dropped heavily as we grew closer to the Theban Hills.

Farhar had been on show once again. Khairy, his proud owner, enjoys taking him out to these events to show his riding skills and of course to let other riders and villagers see what a stunning horse he has. He never hits Farhar, a sign of a truly skillful rider.

Plenty of dust, children shouting 'Hallo' parrot style, thundering hooves, music and oodles of testosterone!

Less than a few hours until the anniversary of Egypts Revolution, a Public Holiday tomorrow and the start of a 12 day feast, this event is significant in that it was a gathering of riders from all over Upper Egypt; Minya, Asyut, Qena, Sohag and of course Luxor.

Khairy and Farhar in action





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.