Jay

Well, the hoped for sunshine didn't arrive, but at least the rain stayed away, which meant the dogs and I were able to go to Ferry Meadows for a bit of exercise. And it's amazing how a bit of fresh air and exercise can raise the spirits. The grey skies weren't ideal for photography, but I took a few insurance shots of mosses, and then just decided to enjoy my walk.

On the way back I spotted a jay sitting in a tree, and stopped to see whether it would come any closer. After a short while it flew down to the ground, and promptly disappeared behind a trunk. I could only detect it's presence by the dead leaves which kept flying out. The dogs and I waited patiently, and eventually it emerged into the open and continued fossicking among the fallen leaves.

It was quite hard to focus on, as it was really a bit too far away, but a couple of shots came out fairly well. I just love the intense blue of the wing flash in this one, and its perky expression!! I think it was hunting acorns that it had buried last autumn - and I last saw it flying away over the adjacent lake with an acorn in it's beak. It's excellent memory had come up trumps!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.