Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Gang signs

I was just about to have a wander down the street when these two young cheeky reprobates spotted me holding a camera. They turned their motorbike around and came back for a photograph, determined to be famous. They didn't realize how famous, with their image being blipped all over the world, albeit for just five minutes of fame.

He insisted on the gang sign thing, what it actually means, I have no idea and probably neither does he, but it looks cool. His younger mate had a bit of trouble with the digital dexterity, but between the two of us, we managed to bend and crumple his hands into the correct shape. He was very pleased with his newly acquired gang sign skills, but was afraid that if he took his eye off the ball, it would roll away.

I love being around the youngsters here. Once they reach about ten or so, they lose the fear of the big white guy and want to practice show off the little bit of English language that they reluctantly learned in school. After an encounter with the big guy, I suspect that the English classes will mean a bit more than just a chore, well, that is my hope.

I am seriously considering getting in touch with the school authorities and arrange a visit, I think it could be fun for everyone, including me of course. Every time I walk past the school, I am greeted with choruses of "Hey mister, what is your name". How can you resist engaging with such a happy crowd.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.