fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

My Longtime Dear Friend

I have mentioned visiting my friend Barb so many times....she is the one who not long ago was in and out of the hospital, in and out of rehabs and finally back into her own home. Friday (I am back blipping again) I went out to Edmonds where she lives and took her to lunch. First the dogs got to do a romp at the lovely Edmonds beach off leash park!

Barb never wants to have her picture taken...she had a bout back in the late seventies with Bels Palsy and her beautiful smile was significantly changed forever. But I love her face...and how she looked yesterday. I assured her I thought my blip friends would too...so here is my dear dear friend. She and her deceased husband Rich were two of the first friends Big R and I made out here when we arrived in 1975. Both of them took us "kids" under their wings to to say and we had so many shared adventures. Their own kids are our age---but we were closest to them. Barb's daughter is the one who died last year of Pancreatic cancer.

The adventures I cherish most of all are the ones we took to the ocean together razor clamming. We had a ball...they were great clam spotters and we always got out limits. At night then I'd play guitar and Barb and Rich would have to endure many silly folk tunes but they always laughed and had a sense of humor about the tunes!

So today I was lucky to squeeze in a visit to see my friend in between the bus runs. I'll have so much more time to spend so less rushed after my pending retirement...I promise you this Barb!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.