The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Big Garden Birdwatch Weekend

Remember how I nagged you!

Well it has arrived .. and it is not too late to have a go! You still have tomorrow! All you need to do is follow this link, download the pack, spend an hour tomorrow counting what's in your garden, and go back to that link and enter this results. One and a half hours of your time can do years of good work for conservation!

I did mine this morning, and these are the results. An impressive tally for the winter count, normally the garden goes quiet when I do this survey! Pretty much all my old faithfuls put in appearance, I even had a Raven fly over at one point, but I am not allowed to count that, as it didn't land in the garden.

This photo is from my "birding book". Once upon a time I said someone shoot me if I start keeping lists, or go twitching ... for the record I was standing in a muddy field in Uskmouth on Monday, with a scope, trying to find a Glossy Ibis. My year list is 70 species, and my life list 143! Is that the sound of a pistol cocking I can hear ....

I also recieved a challenge today from Wildlife Kate to photograph as many birds as I could today. I managed 17 of the 19 I counted, only the humble Blackbird and skulking Chaffinch eluding me! I have put them up in a Flickr group if you want to take a look ... there is also another Fork Handles picture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.