Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

"Le courage n'a pas de sexe"

"During The Storm: Fishermen's wives put the rescue boat into the water" Le Petit Journal, May 6, 1906

When I lived in France I collected issues of this old reactionary newspaper for its artwork. They were not unusual at flea markets and such, and I'd spend a few euros when I came across an image of an insurrection or anything to do with anarchists. This is on the back cover of one, and I chose it for my blip because the only violence it shows is that of Nature. Inside the journal, the picture is described as brave women rushing into a storm such as would typically occur on the coasts of Normandy, Brittany, or England, "...thus cooperating in the rescue of their husbands, their children, and their brothers."


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.