Down the rushy glen

After a dull and drizzly start, things improved and a little sun and warmth burst through.

A few facts needed to be checked so I went off in search of ringforts. Much climbing over gates and wading through muddy fields ensued and I tracked down three - all quite close to each other. Ringforts are old farmsteads, surrounded by a high bank and sometimes a ditch. There are over 30,000 of them in Ireland and once you start looking they're everywhere.They are usually in a fantastic setting - often sheltered by the mountains and looking out to sea. There's nothing military about them - the banks offering protection from the weather and wild animals, as well as the odd unfriendly neighbour.

First I went to this little one and then on to Kealties.This spectacular waterfall marks its entrance - you walk over a bridge made from an enormous stone and then head on up to the hillfort. The waterfall was gushing today and I like the way the hawthorn still had a few red berries, standing bright against the greens and white. I then decided to attempt to get to anothe ringfort I've had my eye on. You can see it clearly from the road but have to negotiate what looks like a track through a farm plus bad dogs. I decided to go as far as possible in the car, then legged it up the last bit. The views were stunning and I started taking pix and was amazed at how similar it was to the last one. Same high banks, same waterlogged ditch, same central plateau. Emerging from the other entrance I was struck dumb - it was the same one!!! Doh!!! Amazing how different it looked from another approach.

Klaus has just lent us the DVD Bridesmaids - himself is already harrumphing as it's a comedy!! Will let you know how we fare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.