Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Border Patrol Working Dog Ahead

This isn't the best shot in the world but I've been sternly warned by the Agents that NO PHOTOGRAPHY of any sort was allowed here.  So it was quick.

This is the US Border Patrol checkpoint 25 miles north of the US/Mexican border on I-19 headed north.  I have to pass through here every time I return home from Tubac.

I've always liked the "Working Dog Ahead" sign and the architecture of the "temporarily permanent" structure.  That's what I've always tried to photograph.

It's no big deal to go through the checkpoint unless you get behind someone in a car with Mexican license plates.  Then they are stopped and have to show their documentation/passports. That slows you down just a bit.

Lots of people think it's stupid to have it there.  I'm ambivalent about it.

One time I asked one of the young agents if I could take his picture.  He asked me if it was going to end up on the internet.  I told him, "Of course not."  He just smiled and said, "Well, I suppose I can't stop you."  

I don't think I would have asked the agent with the dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.