earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Durham

A slightly more straightforward image today! Yesterday's Treegazing rather appealed to my love of inversion and images that draw you in through confusing the eye. I think it might have been too confusing, but when I saw that group of three people looking into the water the title presented itself and I couldn't resist blipping it. I hadn't actually noticed them at the time I took the picture. I usually wait for people to move out of the way!

So, I was in Durham today, getting my passport sorted out. I have to admit that I screwed up again. When I found out, just before my planned trip to Ireland, that my passport expired that weekend, I made a quick visit to the website and registered that they did a one week fast-track service (at a price of course). That would do nicely I think to myself. So at the end of last week I finally get the form and passport pictures and prepare to send them off. When I looked further it turns out that for the one week service you actually have to present yourself in person at a passport office!

I could have gone to Liverpool but decided to go to Durham, the next closest office and an easier journey on the train. It also seemed to be very near the train station. Now, I like to think that although sometimes short of a bit of common sense, I'm not completely inept. Could I find this place? There were loads of signs to it, but they led you around in circles! I swear, straight up, there is a section of road where two signs about 50 yards apart are pointing you in opposite directions! I asked a couple of locals who had no idea. I eventually found a traffic warden who finally pointed me in the right direction, which was a very different direction from the way the signs were pointing! And it still wasn't easy. The building, although huge, has nothing to indicate its identity other than a small sign down a flight of steps and below the level of the pavement.

They couldn't have made it harder to find if they had tried. Perhaps the idea is to make people late so they can charge even more for missing the designated appointment slot. In the end the whole process took no more than 30 seconds. I had a very quick wander along the River Wear before getting the train home. The river turns right back on itself here so that Durham Cathedral sits on this high ground overlooking the river on both sides. It's an incredibly dramatic setting. It was lovely to be able to take this peaceful walk just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the shops. I find myself seeking solitude even in the middle of cities - perhaps especially in the middle of cities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.