Roll With It

By Falmike

Only One Third

"Only One Third", the title describes two sevenths of the most important females in my life. Missing are my Mum, Clare, Sarah, Samantha and Janette balanced on my knees are my granddaughters, Anais and Chloe.

Sad times and celebrations, are these the only times we gather as families, of so it shouldn't be.

Due to Mum I suppose I feel a little maudlin, sitting alone drinking coffee in some place I'd rather not be. Seems like I had 35 odd years of being apart from those I care most about, at the time I enjoyed what I was doing but now I look and wonder where all the time went.

I spent the day with some lovely people today, nieces, nephews and grandchildren who seem to have grown without me noticing, difficult to believe that my daughter will be forty this year and some of the others thirty.

It's a good job that inside I'm still twenty-one!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.