An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Great, Great Tartan Debate!

Ok, I will be honest with you. I never, ever really saw myself living in a house that featured anywhere within its walls, a tartan carpet.

Now let me state early doors that there is nothing wrong with tartan carpets not strictly true...some are absolutely hideous!!! and in the right place Cameron House Hotel or Scottish castles they can be very lovely indeed.

Now here's the rub.....our new house has tartan carpets in 3 of the bedrooms. Virtually brand new, very expensive, not a mark on them, Black Watch tartan carpets. Two of the carpets will definitely be replaced as one of those bedrooms will be Alan's and he definitely doesn't want a tartan carpet and the other bedroom is being converted into a wheelchair accessible bathroom so that leaves the main guest bedroom, still with a tartan carpet.

And so the Great Tartan Debate has been raging in our house for the last few weeks. Do we keep it or change it (not really budgeted for that!) D says keep it....I say get rid. Now amazingly, and this really does surprise me, every family member and friend who has seen this carpet loves it and thinks I am mad for even considering replacing it. But I know best. Right??

Apparently not. I have been persuaded to keep it!

The house is pretty special and I have grudgingly agreed can carry off a bit of tartan so before I changed my mind, some beautiful, white bedlinen has been bought and today the piece de resistance arrived....a lambswool Black Watch Tartan throw and 2 matching Black Watch Tartan cushions (one of which is my BLIP.....to complete the "look". There's no going back now and I have to admit they are pretty damn gorgeous and (don't tell D, I hate it when he's right!) I can't wait to see them in situ. :-))

Thought I would go the whole hog and get my THISTLE printed onto canvas for above the bed.

All I need now is a handsome, kilted piper to pipe visitors to bed. Any takers?? :-))))

Happy Tuesday Peeps :-))) xxx

P.S. Two almost brand new tartan carpets for sale... ;-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.