Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Momoh Popom

Introducing Momoh Popom, who runs a kitchen close to the internet café that I frequent. Momoh also has a Wartel telephone kiosk. Wartel is the equivalent of a public phone kiosk. Ten years ago, every street would have had a Wartel every four or five doors, but with the advent of the cheap hand phone cards, Wartels are becoming quite scarce. They are still the best way of making international calls, as the cell phone charges for international are ridiculously high.

I had to phone the bank in England yesterday evening and was very impressed with Momoh's handsome display of culinary delights, the cleanliness of the display, kitchen and if fact, the whole establishment, so I decided to give her wears a try today.

Momoh greeted me with a smile and welcomed me into her kitchen, remembering me from yesterday, but it is hard to forget the big, bald white guy anyway. As always, Momoh was very smartly dressed and wearing make-up, quite an effort for the long day ahead, working in a kitchen.

I picked out a few of her offerings, still feeling wary after my recent food induced illness, but I was feeling fairly confident and craving something other than rice, noodles or bananas. The food was very tasty and the chicken thoroughly and recently cooked. The display shelves were adequately protected from flies, a detail overlooked in most kitchens.

Two hours on and I am still feeling good, so, I may have found a new eating house, but I think I shall continue with more home cooking, now that I have gotten back into the habit.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.