Picasso Exhibition

I am not well, I have a terrible cough and ache all over, I was meant to be going out with a large group of friends tonight for dinner and Karaoke and have been looking forward to it for weeks but had to cancel it :-(
Not being a person who finds it easy to relax I spent the morning editing and uploading photos onto Facebook of my time in Bali and some of the photos I've taken since I've been here in Sydney.
I have also joined Instagram which I am loving! Totally different concept to blip, instant and all done on the phone.
After lunch I felt I had to get out so I went for a walk, a friend of mine had left me a gift at a nearby Hotel so I decided to go and pick it up.
On my way there I stumbled across the Art Gallery of New South Wales where I saw an incredible exhibition of Picasso's work set out over 10 rooms starting with his early work and ending with his last pieces, in other words a chronological journey through his life and self expression, it was deeply moving and very interesting, right at the end hung his painting The Young painter, in reality the colors are much softer and paler than this photo and the picture is large, he painted it in 1972 a year before he died aged 91, he once said "When I was a child I could paint like Raphael, but it took me a lifetime to learn to draw like a child", I found myself crying as I looked at it, this painting radiates such an innocence and to stand in that last room surrounded by work he completed in the last few years of his life and to witness the vibrancy, passion and aliveness of it that was just as urgent and wonderful as all the other work in the previous rooms made me wish we could live forever but then if we could then where would the drive to do all the things we can do and to make the most of the day come from? To really live a life like he did and to have to leave it when still in your prime must have been very hard.... Pablo Picasso died on 8 April 1973 in Mougins, France, while he and his wife Jacqueline entertained friends for dinner. His final words were "Drink to me, drink to my health, you know I can't drink any more."
It made me want to sell our house and take my family and go and live somewhere cheaper and bigger where we can all experiment with more forms of Art!!!!!!
I LOVED IT, can you tell ;-)
I picked up the gift afterwards, beautifully chosen books for me and the boys and a movie and chocolates, so thoughtful, I'm really touched.
Now I am going to take some more medicine, watch TV and chill and hope to feel better tomorrow.

Interview and video about the show at the Ivy last week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.