horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Still Got the Blues For You

I used to play the blues harp years and years and years back. Not to any astounding standard you must understand, but to play along with a couple of school friends who were piano and guitar geniuses. I just didn't have the patience. But I've been hankering after playing again recently, and with a further small push watching the Shawshank Redemption the other night I went out and ordered a new harp.

Weird playing again. It's been about 13 years by my reckoning.

But good.

Life of stress continues. Website was supposed to go online this Friday; but with a 'profiling' form to be completed for work to apply for my own job, and with each evening taken up till at least 9ish sorting out Mel and the house with her out of action... Just too much to be thinking of. Never rains etc etc etc.

Strange that in the midst of the perfect breeding ground for a bit of blues, playing them makes me feel better...

I used to be able to play this...

p.s. the harp is a Suzuki Bluesmaster. In the past I used to have a range of 6 or 7 Hohners - reviews helped me make a jump elsewhere.

p.p.s. I'm going to be spending part of tonight rooting around iTunes for some Sonny Boy Williamson and Charlie Musselwhite and some modern blues stuff...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.