David J. Rose

By djrose007

Robert Raikes

Today I had a doctors appointment at the city centre surgery rather than the one close to our house, nothing serious just checking me out!
I had the appointment time as 11:00 so I got the bus at 10:20, in town before half past and popped into Co-op and Thompsons to pick up brochures about Malta for later in the year.
When I wandered into the surgery the receptionist informed me my appointment was 11:30 so this gave me an opportunity for more wandering.
Most people malign Gloucester because of the cheap shops that have sprung up and the empty shops that have closed down. If people took the time to look up, instead of the rubbish shop windows, they would see the beauty and history of the city.
I went into the park and snapped this photograph of Robert Raikes who was born in Gloucester 1735 and died in 1811. He was the man that started the Sunday School movement in the Churches of England, one of those very famous, but unknown, men that made a change to so many peoples lives.
Underneath the statue the writing says:
"ROBERT RAIKES. Founder of the Sunday School Movement. Born Gloucester, 1735; Died 1811. Third Jubiliee of The Movement.
This Statue, Erected by Contributions of teachers and scholars in Sunday Schools of the lan, collected under the auspices of 'The united board of Sunday School Orgnisations' and of 'The National Sunday School Union' is presented to his native City.
Unveiled, Thursday 2nd October 1930."


I didn't get back home until nearly 12:30 and walked into the smell of a ham joint cooking in the pressure cooker with carrots, onions, capsicum, ginger, garlic, celery. Great smell and lovely soup after it is all 'Whizzed-up' with Lentils in it as well. She'd been through the house cleaning and vacuuming everything in sight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.