Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Mr.Ario

Introducing Mr.Ario. This charming young man works a store front four doors down from mine, selling cocoa nut and sweet potato amongst other culinary knickknacks. Ario always has a friendly wave every time I go past and I have to admit to feeling a bit guilty to have never popped in to try his wares, but, as I set off down the road, on foot, in search of a blip, I thought that this day was as good an opportunity as any.

As I turned into his establishment, his face literally lit up with excitement, not an effect that I usually have on people back in England, but I will tell it how it is. I spotted a mechanical ice crusher on a table at the back of the forecourt. I knew exactly what it was, because I had a conversation with the previous occupant of the property as he restored the heap of rust and a fine job he did too.

Within seconds I had formulated my plan, to get Ario to show me the mechanical piece and use it as a prop distraction for the blip. Ario had also formulated his plan to sell me some hot baked sweet potato. With some creative sign language and a smattering of rudimentary Indonesian talk, I convinced him that he wasn't getting any sale until I had gotten my blip.

I guided him over to the ice crusher and made inquisitive noises and soon had him cranking away at the handle. I peeled off about thirty snaps, just about every one had a different facial expression, his face was in constant motion. Usually with portraits, you get as much as you are going to get within a few snaps. You can tease a bit more out of the subject by building up a rapport, but this can be a struggle if the person is uncomfortable with a camera lens in his face, but no such problems with Ario, I had a difficult job selecting a blip from the multitude of expressions that he gave me. Props are always a good idea.

I just wish I was more competent at the language, so that I could interview him properly, but other than finding out that he was twenty one, I got nothing for you aside from his very cute expression.

Yes, I did purchase some baked sweet potato and I must say it was most delicious. Now I know why it is called sweet potato, this was oozing sweetness, like it had been marinated in honey. Ario will certainly be seeing more of Vodkaman, maybe a return blip, when he is more relaxed about me and I have a decent camera.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.