Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Tower and inferno...

... or every cloud has a golden lining.

Today has been one of those days that have been busy, but where there's not a lot to show for it. I got up early to make a pan of leek and potato soup for Alex, and when I went upstairs to get washed and dressed I was delighted to see a flock of fieldfares feeding on the last few Cotoneaster berries in the front garden. Of course I had to dash down to get my camera, and managed several passable shots, even though it was scarcely light.


After getting Alex to Orton Pit I headed off to Sainsbury's. It was only when I'd half-filled my trolley that I realised my purse was still in my camera bag - just a good job that we don't live too far away and I could nip home to get it!! And at least I noticed before I reached the check-out!!

The first part of the afternoon was spent doing a bit of tidying and then I went down to the river with the dogs. Much of it is frozen over, with just a couple of ice-free channels remaining, kept open by the movements of the swans. While I was out I received a text from Alex, saying that they were packing up, so I headed off to pick him up. Despite the delay caused by completing my dog walk and chatting with a friend I met, I still had to wait, and watched the sun gradually sinking into this dark cloud. I opened the car window and got a few shots - this was my favourite as it shows the Morborne Hill transmitting station and a flock of corvids heading to their overnight roost over the silhouette of the ridge-and-furrow of the pit.

Morborne Hill is a local landmark, occupying one of the highest hills in the area (which isn't very high) and it can be seen for miles. There are two tall structures on adjacent sites: a guyed steel lattice mast belonging to Arqiva, and a reinforced concrete tower belonging to BT. These sites are known by their owners as 'Peterborough' and 'Morborne Hill' respectively. The tall structure is particularly important to us as it transmits Radio 4, a constant companion in our household.

On October 30, 2004, this mast was destroyed by fire. It collapsed, seriously damaging the transmitter building at the base - and we were briefly deprived of our radio fix. Services were temporarily restored by transferring them to the adjacent BT tower and two temporary masts, including the BBC emergency mast which was put in use for the first time. A new replacement mast has now been built and is in full service - much to our relief!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.