Cynthia's Private Island

FedEx managed to deliver the replacement IKEA island this morning without dropping it, and I started putting it together as soon as Mr. Mole left. He'd stopped by for coffee on his way back from Nagoya, where he does consulting work for an airplane manufacturer.

I've always raved about the quality of IKEA furniture and how it's so easy to assemble that I enjoy doing it. This was not up to the usual standard. I had to use clamps, drills, screws, glue, and bad words, none of which are called for in the instructions. Not everybody would have those items -- except perhaps the bad words. Never mind, the finished product looks fine, and Cynthia is very pleased with it.

Now I need to prepare for tomorrow's trip to Seattle. I'm taking the train, and meeting Mr. Mole at the annual Belgianfest (Belgian-style beer festival). I just checked the extensive beer selection online and it's making me drool. The list is four pages long, and the detailed descriptions fill another eleven pages. I've got some homework to do!

If Mole and I have half as much fun as we did last year, it will be another memorable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.