Signs of Autumn

A morning where I felt like being at home, the sun was pouring through the windows bright and warm, almost too warm. I felt like listening to some music, reading the newspaper and just simply pottering - but that wasn't to be.

Instead it was a day of much driving, few jobs done and changing weather patterns. Daughter E and I went to Christchurch, where the weather was dull and cold, came home where the weather was rapidly changing and then headed to Ashley Gorge where the clouds were heavy but it was quite warm. People were swimming, fishing, picnicing and I noticed the leaves are on the turn!! I looked and looked again and said to Daughter E 'I'm sure those leaves are changing', she confirmed my thoughts - so Autumn is sneaking in a whole month early, quietly creeping and hoping we wouldn't notice but we know better, we're onto it!

I was hoping for some good shots at the gorge today, but they're dark and lifeless so a quick nip out to my garden found this delicately coloured Dahlia swaying in the early evening breeze.

Thanks everyone for your thoughts on our historical buildings. An extensive list was printed in our local rag today of the buildings which are earthquake prone - could fall down in a moderate quake. After looking at the list, I don't think there are any businesses in our main street which are not named. A note will be put on the doors and the public will enter at their own risk. We will all enter to buy our goods as there is nowhere else to go. Perhaps my little series which I was gradually going to do, may have to be acted upon a little sooner than I thought.

Hope your having a great weekend, I have to fly now as Hubby is on his way home - Beef Nacho's for tea tonight and maybe a little TV time as my eyes are quite heavy - Nite :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.