Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Thanks from the Thirsty Thrush

Freezing temperatures meant the bird baths had frozen over so I was out a few times today with some luke warm water to thaw the bath and give them a drink. The birds loved it and I soon set myself up with the camera ready to try and get an avian pool party.

But you know how it is - settle in, camera poised, (frozen) grin of anticipation at getting what could be the defining shot of my short blip career...

Nothing...

Obviously someone else was hosting a *better* pool party!

Then it started to snow - I'm more than happy with the snow but I doubt my camera would agree and I didn't really want to find out how (if at all) waterproof it was!

So... I got out my camping tarp (I know it's a good shelter as I've slept under it in the rain!) and pegged it up to the washing line so I could sit outside and watch the snow and hope for some quality blippage :o)

The thrush has been an infrequent but welcome visitor to the garden; last year, if it's the same one, it was the loudest thrush I'd ever heard! It would sit on top of the tallest tree just over the fence and sing for joy, and you could hear it almost half a mile away (probably). But I've never blipped it. So while I was faffing about with apertures and iso's and not paying any attention to the surroundings, I heard a little noise, looked up and there was the thrush!

I like to think the thrush was maybe giving me a blip to say thanks for the drink. But in all likelihood he'd spotted my attention was diverted and took advantage!

Got him though :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.