Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Canongate Tollbooth

When skies are blue and I walk this way I often take a photograph of the Canongate Kirk, so today I thought I'd take a pic of the Canongate Tollbooth instead.

The gate beneath this building used to be the Tollbooth where a fee was paid to enter the Canongate - not within the city boundaries of Edinburgh. There was a further fee payable at Netherbow to enter the City.

Was on the way to meet a friend who had returned from 11 weeks away, travelling in the Far East, Australia and New Zealand. She told tales of, amongst other things, the price of bread in Australia which is around £4.30 for a loaf. I was astounded. To celebrate her return we had cake (well, a scone for me) and a good old chinwag with another cake-loving friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.