Gail's Daily Tales

By gailsdailytales

Every day's a school day

This is Hunter's playroom, littered with toys and yet looking remarkably organised. That's because he hasn't been in it for a couple of days and order has been restored (by mam, of course).

I'm posting this pic because Hunt's room reminds me of a primary school classroom, and will be used as one this week when H and I are introduced to 'Jolly Phonics'.

Remember when the alphabet had 26 letters? Ok, so it still does BUT there are 42 letter sounds in the English language. I didn't know this, although it's obvious when you think about it.

Tomorrow we will begin with the /s/ sound. I'll read a story about a snake making a /ssss/ sound, and then we'll weave our arms like snakes and imitate the /ssss/. I'll then tell H that /s/ is one of the letter sounds and from there we'll look at the shape of S and then I'll show Hunter objects in his playroom that have the /s/ sound.

He's only 16 months - but I'll bet my house that he is reading by 2. Maybe earlier.

"The Key advantages of Jolly Phonics are that it teaches children to recognise all the main letter sounds early on, and that it shows them how to relate the sounds to the symbols, and so, to understand the alphabetic code used for reading and writing. With Jolly Phonics, children can be taught to read at a young age, even at a pre-school age". Jolly Phonics Teacher's Book


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.