The Memory Keeper

By athousandwords

Lame again!

Silly old pony, will it ever end?!

Risky was shod on Friday, and as always after the farrier has visited, he had sensitive feet. For some reason the farrier (who is a lovely man) decided to remove the front right shoe the next day and not replace it. Personally I would have had the troublesome shoe removed and replaced, as now Risky has a bare sensitive foot, which is far more likely to be damaged on the frozen mud than if the shoe had remained on. But it's not my place to say. His owners agreed with me though, which was nice. The shoe is being replaced on Tuesday. For now he has a poultice on (a nappy and vet wrap - much cheaper and just as effective as the proper stuff) to try keep his sensitive sole dry and clean. No riding for me this weekend, was meant to be my reward for surviving (and enjoying) my first week of placement. Oh well :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.