From the other side of the world

A three-dimensional Christmas card from my friend M in Australia. It arrived after Christmas, and so I have been enjoying having it on my desk, with all it's playful silliness for a few weeks into the New Year. M was one of the temporary admin assistants that seemed to come and go with great regularity from our team when I still worked in the bank. I think the issue was that the bank would only employ them on temporary contracts and therefore people who wanted to hang around doing that sort of job looked elsewhere for a permanent position. Instead we got a succession of people traveling through, mostly from Australia, NZ and North America. One of whom was M, who I got on very well with, even although she wasn't there too long. And given I left the bank completely a bit over five years ago, it must be six, no, seven years since we last saw each other when she left Scotland. But we have managed to keep in touch, first through emails, and then through 'social network sites'. But despite being kept up to date with her news, like her engagement towards the end of last year, it was still very nice to get something physical through the post from her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.