MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Mosteiro de Sao Bento

Mike and I were let out of language class 45 minutes early, so we walked the short distance to the Saint Benedict Monastery. It was a very beautiful, quiet spot within Rio's Centro. I'm not usually a fan of the overly ornate church, but knowing this was built in 1671 somehow made that better. (Though it didn't help in the Vatican and St. Peter's.. hrmm..) The ground on which the mosteiro stands was full of trees and plants which is where I find my true solace. We're hoping to return on a Sunday to hear the Gregorian chants, but we will need to take a taxi- Centro is not a place to be in off-business hours.

Being around so many people is simultaneously draining and inspiring. At times I am exhausted by the noise and the chaos, but if I have a moment to reflect, it is infinitely awesome to be surrounded by a totally different world where the people around me are, without question, thinking very different thoughts than I am. I'm still full of questions about this life of mine, but I am trying now for patience and observation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.