An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Aaaaachooooo!

Proud mummy time.

I am raising a son who is utterly selfless. So generous is he that he has been kind enough to share his poxy cold germs with us and now both David and I are revelling in the joys of streaming eyes, snotty noses, sore throats, fatigue and general grumpiness (over and above the usual level of middle age grumpiness!)

To add to this joy, upon returning from work and making myself a lemsip with honey (good to myself eh? :-) I sneaked a chocolate digestive well they do say starve a fever and feed a cold ;-) and whilst munching on it, found my upper left molar and filling crumbling at an alarming rate. How marvellous. Will be Friday before I can get near the dentist but the chances of getting an appointment during half term are as likely as me doing some ironing!!

Grrrrrr! Pass the oil of cloves!

But for every down there's an up! :-))

Broke the news to Alan last night that when we move house, he will have to change school. Told him all about the new school and our visit last week and to our utter delight, he was really receptive and quite excited (his father labouring the point about how pretty his new teacher is, may have been a key factor in his excitement!!!)

We are taking him to visit the school tomorrow afternoon (I'm sure they will be delighted to see 2 miserable, snottery parents and one child of similar ilk turn up!) so hope he is still as excited about it after that!

The other up today is connected to the Amazon parcels that have been delivered to me over the past couple of days. After a couple of months deliberation I finally made the decision to buy a new camera! And it and all its bits and bobs have arrived! :-)

I had been saving for an iPad and had enough put aside by the end of September but when it came to it, that little voice in my head (let's call him Sid ;-) whispered "keep saving and in another few months you could get a new camera instead" and the seed was sown.

Much as I love my little Olympus (I didn't realise it was little until I saw it next to the D60!) and have been amazed at some of the photographs it has allowed me to take, I really felt that in order to learn more and develop (no pun intended!) I needed to upgrade. So, after much research I have settled on a Canon D60. Reading the manual, I realise how much I have to learn but at least I can look forward even more to my OU Digital Photography course knowing I am learning on the kit I plan to be using for a very long time to come!

Unfortunately I have not managed to take many photos today (but I did manage to input the date and time into the camera all by myself! LOL!) but was determined today's blip would be taken with my new kit. I took some lovely shots of the thistles again but decided on this shot of the necklace I was wearing today, which isn't the best of today's bunch but I felt it was apt as, as soon as I lifted the camera from its box, it was love at first sight. :-)))

And looking at the range of canon lenses, I suspect it's going to be a very, very long time before an ipad makes it way to the top of the wish list again!!! :-))

Happy Hump Day peeps....I'm off work now till next Wednesday so a SONG to celebrate and soothe my sore head....! :-))) xxx

PS IMO this is the best ever version of this song :-)

PPS Someone pass me a hanky please *wipes nose on sleeve*



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.