Changing fashions

On my run this morning I went past Hawkins and Scuffell, an antique shop on Jervois Road in Herne Bay. It opened with some fanfare last August (I understand; missed it at the time). They are noted for the great variety of items, and apparently amongst their current treasures are a number of folded books.

This window display contains a number of items of variable age and dubious usefulness. Would be mostly wanted for the fashion statement they make, is my guess. I really like the sputnik looking object, but have no idea what I would do with it if I did find myself with it.

There are interesting aspect on the bit of ceiling which shows, There is a central plaster rosette from which would have hung (and probably still does) a light on a long cord. The ceiling has square panels with battens, rather than long boards with battens, suggesting it was no earlier than 1920s or 30s. The black sprinkler is anachronistic, and its probable lack of functionality is suggested by the modern sprinkler near by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.