Exposed

The report into the collapse of the CTV building in February's earthquake was released today.

I'm wondering how it can be that the CTV building didn't meet the building standards of 1986 when it was built. I haven't done the math but I'd guess around 60% of the Feb 22 deaths happened in the collapse of that building. My friend died there and I feel enormously sad.

I live in NZ. This isn't what we expect. It's hard to understand how it could happen. We have clear laws and building codes and we don't have a culture of entrenched corruption where officials are bribed and paid off. How it could this building be signed off by a succession of council inspectors? How could be it be inspected post-4 Sept and 26 Dec 2010 quakes and pronounced sound?

So yes, exposed.

As it happened today I had an appointment after work on the edge of the CBD. I negotiated by bike past new cordons protecting The Terrace appartment block now condemned. This is new, the building now confirmed for demolition post 23 Dec quakes.

I noted only part of my route past the complex offered any meaningful protection. Curiously there is a section with little or no cordon extending onto the street. I briefly wondered how much trust I should place in the experts who determine these things. Many have certainly been found wanting in the Canterbury Earthquake Royal Commission.

But this is life. A harsh discovery but there is also a richness to living in Christchurch. It has it's moments; 5 seismic ones I think I counted last night. Most I thought I'd learned to sleep through but not last night.

It can be tricky getting from A to B and sometimes disorientating. At times the sights and people's stories are hugely confronting and haunting. But there is plenty of innovation, people doing lots with little, or finding new ways to continue on with their businesses and lives.

There are places of vibrancy and beauty, parts that seem well, normal. I will never have another opportunity to be part of the rebuild and healing of a city. I see that as momentous and exciting too.

We live with an experience of raw power as we've never known. The forces that have created our beautiful landscape at work in the land beneath us. Exciting and scary; a beautiful aria and a lament.

Another good day at the computer screens at work with lots accomplised. I've decided to have a 4 day weekend and I'm taking Monday and Tuesday off. That takes the pressure off me with Sunday's alpine tramp and I'll have a bit of r&r.

2 more big sleeps before I clean the house, pack and drop the Fur Child at his luxury 5-star cat accommodation for 3 nights. Then out to the hunters where he will be cooking me dinner and I will relax before an early night.

Sunday I'll head off early for my fun day climbing little peaks in Arthur's Pass and then return to the lovely hunter who will have dinner and a hot shower waiting. Bliss :-)

Then a cruisey Monday and Tuesday before picking the fur child up and preparing for a short week.

It sounds very good to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.