This Was The View...

... I longed to see!

It had been a long night, my eyes hurt even more than then had last time.. Every time I woke up I reached for water, gently bathed them and tried to open my lids. I had to believe the doctor when he had said I didn't need anyone to see them but it was still scary! I remembered brave blippers like dublin shooter, brickmaker, katkatkat and Annie who have blipped even through hospitalization for major surgery or helicopter rescues, or both! How many days, I wondered, would I have to represent darkness with a shot with the lens cap in place? If only I could look up and see the lampshade from where I lay!

By morning the pain was a little less but as I still couldn't open my eyes I had to ask The Man to cancel his meeting and stay home with me. This was the first time in my life when I hadn't seen the light of day! However by early evening I found I could force open each eye in turn and was thankful that the view was now clear. Such a relief! By the time The Mother came over for tea I cound actually make my eyes open to keep checking my plate. I was on the mend!

By evening I could keep both eyes open and guess the camera settings.

I have another appointment in the morning with the optician, he will check my corneas but I will tell him that I will never, ever want to try another contact lens! Glasses will do from now on, but maybe stronger ones than I've been wearing lately!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.