Celebrations.

Today we have two birthdays in our family. Our granddaughter's, and my own.
Our granddaughter Sophie is fourteen, and I am five times her age.
Our grandchildren think I am old, and the youngest says very old, but I do not feel it at all.
I retired fourteen years ago from Mencap, where I managed residential homes for people with learning difficulties, but four years ago went back to working five days a week in our own business, a little shop. I have no intention of retiring yet, so to me my age is just a number.
This blip is all about me. The pictures were taken for my father who was at sea. The first at six months and the second at three years. The small locket has also a picture of me, worn by my mother, until my sister came along seven years later. There could be no favouritism. The last item is for teething, given to me on my christening, although I don't understand the black ribbon.
Tonight we are celebrating , all the family are going for a meal together. There will be lots of laughs, a few tears and a lot of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.