earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Dunmanus Bay

It's been a wonderful and very full-on day exploring both the Sheepshead and Mizen Peninsulas in the company of Travellersjoy this morning and then with another local blipper, Lulubelle, and her partner this afternoon. This whole area has a stark wild beauty which was highlighted today by the overcast skies and quite moody weather, offering a little mizzle at one moment and then a little bit of brightness the next. The sea had a quite eerie calm about it this morning too, and with the exceptionally low tide and the unseasonably mild temperatures there was a slightly surreal feel to the landscape.

There seems to be something quite unique about the company of blippers. Lulubelle hosted a wonderful dinner tonight and we swapped blip stories and shared the day's catch of photographs. Here were three people I had never met before yesterday morning and I already feel like I've known them for years. That also might be something to do with the kind of people that are drawn to this rather magical part of the world. I think you have to have something special about you to end up living here. I feel that in the case of each of my three hosts today I have connected with a kindred spirit.

There were a lot of fabulous shots to choose from for my blip, but I went for this one in the end because it represents my very first experience of the coast here on Sheepshead and for me this does convey a great sense of the mood of the sea and the landscape. The others have blipped shots from Barley Cove and Brow Head on the Mizen. They are well worth looking at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.