The way I see it.

By christinePears

Craig Dunain

I know! It's a very odd photo for me to post especially on the day of the Inverness Blipmeet. I had a wonderful time at the blipmeet and it was so strange the way that 6 people from diverse backgrounds, who had never met in real life, could share two hours listening to each others stories like old friends. Blippers are indeed lovely people who all seem to have a very positive outlook on life. Maybe it's because we have trained ourselves to look for something of interest or beauty each day.

One of the blippers told me of an interesting place to visit up by the old Mental Health hospital or Asylum as it was known in former days. I found the pond and the woodland walk that he talked of but what left a lasting impression on me was the remains of the former Craig Dunain Hospital. I was filled with such sadness as I looked at it. I thought of the pupils that I now teach in a bright modern school who return to their families each night. If they had lived in former times they would most likely have lived out their days in a place such as this.

I found the stone walled graveyard in the nearby woods. A commemorative plaque at the entrance to it stated that the bodies of the inmates of the Asylum who were not claimed by family or friends were laid to rest here until it became full. Today's blip is in memory of those who had to live out their days in such a place and in appreciation of living in a time where everyone has the right to an education and a certain quality of life.

I don't mean to imply that everything that happened in places like Craig Dunain was bad - I am sure that there were many kind and caring people who worked there. I am just recording the strong feelings that overcame me as I walked round the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.