There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Sultan of Swing, in Repose

I bought one of those fold-up chairs in a bag last week. It was a big, sturdy chair, red, on sale for under $10 at Sam's Club - a good deal. We hike and camp out a lot when the weather is warmer, and we've gone through about a half dozen of these chairs in the past 10 years or so; it never hurts to have a spare on hand.

Last Saturday morning, I got the new chair out and set it up in the living room. I put a few blankets on it and our tabby cat Dexter immediately adopted it. He presumed I bought it for him. At the end of last weekend, I couldn't get the chair back from him, so I left it set up in the living room.

The chair has a purple blanket on it, a cat bed, and a soft brown blanket on top. Dexter jumps up into the cat bed, and I pull the brown blanket down over him - a privacy curtain. He has been known to nap there for hours and hours. (Yes, you might accuse me of tabby pandering - I plead guilty on all counts.)

The chair, the blankets, the cat bed - one night it suddenly came to me what it reminded me of: a sultan's palace, all blankets and curtains and luxury. A Winter Palace for our Sultan of Swing.

And so now I pull back the brown soft blanket on top to reveal . . . the Sultan in repose, with two white paws covering his nose.






P.S. Dexter the Tabby is a favorite Blip subject of mine; he also appears in:

Monday 6 February 2012: Now What?
Saturday 28 January 2012: Pink Mouse Games
Saturday 14 January 2012: Tabby Storage Solutions
Friday 13 January 2012: Dexter's Pinkee Toepads
Saturday 31 December 2011: What Do You Mean, "Happy New Year"?
Wednesday 28 December 2011: Tote that Tabby!
Tuesday 27 December 2011: Attack of the Box Creature!
Friday 23 December 2011: The Supervisor of Wrapping
Saturday 17 December 2011: Meet Dexter the Tabby!









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.