shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

In the pink/My head is spinning

A little title indecision this evening! I'm not sure if it's in honour of Valentine's Day, but the Glasgow wheel has gone pink. I've been meaning to blip this regularly, and have a regular wee store of shots of it which never quite made it to the front of the blip queue. But given the nice bright pink colour, I thought after yesterday's ironing blip (yes, for those of you who didn't work it out, it was the ironing board) I'd put off challenging gender stereotypes for another few days ;)

Very long day at work today, looking forward to two days off with my mum, who is getting an insulin pump at Crosshouse hospital tomorrow. She has had type 1 diabetes for about 40 years. We hope the new pump will make life much easier, as her diabetes is often very badly controlled and she has almost no sense of going into a hypo (when her blood sugar gets too low), which is very dangerous. My sister does most of the coping, and my nephew is getting pretty good, but remembering from when I was his age how scary it was I'd much rather he didn't have to deal with it. We'd all love an end to mum's 'wobbly' moments and the stress for everyone, especially mum. She has to stay up on the mainland near the hospital for a few days, so will be staying in a B&B in Dreghorn, and I've taken Tuesday and Wednesday off to keep her company. Any recommendations for fun things to do in Kilmarnock would be much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.