Walking on the Moon

We had to return to the same spot where we explored the desert in the Lake Mead National Recreation Area. Steve had found some rocks that looked very much like petrified wood and I wanted to see them too. Arvin was game so off we drove after breakfast. Steve and I took a long walk back into the hills while Arvin stayed closer to the car. The landscape got more and more like I might imagine the moon to be. The colors were unreal and the rocks were amazing. We did find the spot with the petrified wood and much more. I couldn't stop taking pictures. You'll see more detail in the larger version. To see more photos look at Chaikins of Bellingham. Did I mention that we just missed getting rained on? After we got home we took Emmett and Jennifer and Bailey out to a wonderful tapas restaurant called Firefly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.