horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Unexpected Satisfaction

A day with one plan
At the beginning
Till the rain ran
So changing

Plan turns indoors
An unfinished build
A ride unfulfilled
The weather willed
The first plan killed

Then as the second ends
Sun
Fun
And unlike a Rolling Stone
Satisfaction
Achieved

-----

Not everyone's idea of fun, but I like building up bikes, starting with the frame, and getting a truly personal ride - as well as restoring old bikes that would otherwise have ended up on the scrap heap (yes, my garage is rather full). This is a Planet-X Kaffenback, which will be taking me round the Bealach Mor sportive event in about 4 weeks time (a 90 mile ride including the highest road pass in the country).

My 9 years-younger brother will be on his carbon fibre race beast. I like a more classic steel look. Okay, so he'll finish well ahead of me, but that's not really what it's about for me.

Oh, and I was supposed to be going to see Newcastle play Valencia in a friendly today, but a combination of the continued bad weather, equally continued poorly spell, and change in the kick off time counted against it.

In the end I didn't really mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.