MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Devo ser rica..

In Portuguese, there are two verbs for "to be." They are the temporary (estar) and the permanent (ser). I found out in my class today, through the workbook, that things that describe people are usually estar (z.B.: Ele esta feliz. He is happy.) but certain things are permanent (z.B.: Ele e estrangeiro. He is a foreigner.). But also a permanent feature is being rich. I don't know if this could be symbolic of some class issues here in Brazil- because we talked about that yesterday- but I thought it was really interesting.

Anyway, today I was rich- successful class period, bought 4 (toooootally NOT pirated :P) DVDs for R$10, bought post cards, got a SIM card!!, and hung out at the beach with my brother and watched it rain (might've made it rain.. not sure on that one). Also chilled with the roommates while watching "Compramos um Zoologico" (one of my recent purchases...) and working on that paper! I would say a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.