Religion, Cafeteria Style

Eleven mopnths ago I blipped this cabinet, remarking on the various virtues and faults of its contents. Today's trip to the grocery store caused me to re-organize the thing again.

I waver between atheism and deism when I happen to think about religion at all, as it may pertain to me. However, there are tenets of some religions that I subscribe to with enthusiasm. Here I am starting to do what Mormons are all supposed to do: Store enough of the food you eat regularly to last for three months, and keep longer-term food supplies to sustain life in case it's needed. Most Mormons don't actually do this, but I think it's an intelligent thing for anyone to consider.

I've known only a few Mormons over the years, and of course their young men on missionary duty have never gotten much of my time. But when Katrina hit the gulf coast, enormous columns of over-the-road trucks streamed out of Utah accompanied by flocks of Mormons and they simply fed the hungry people. Thus after the disaster, as the government's reputation evaporated in New Orleans, the pairs of evangelist guys suddenly were listened to and invited in for a cool drink, such as respected visitors would be. The doors were not slamming in their faces so often. I couldn't help but be impressed. [Edit: I was not there myself.]

When I shop for food these days I try to buy something that's not expensive and that has a long shelf life. It seems sensible because I'm pretty poor and the forseeable future is quite uncertain. This time, I'll be visiting my dear friend Ceridwen, for the coming month, and so a larger part of the budget goes to the storage effort.

Beans and crushed tomatoes were on sale tonight. I boiled all my eggs and pickled them, and I might get some macaroni & cheese in if I have time before I head for windy Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.