horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Glow from Mecca

Meowing you awake
Hungry for food
Shunning the petting
In a bad mood
Giving you daggers
Like a mafia hood
Hairballs on carpet
Thinking he's good

But

One look
One purr
One stroke of the fur
And moments
Become lives
And a requited
Reciprocated
Feline affection

-----------------------

It's often said that people are cat or dog people. Is it not possible to be both? Growing up dad once took home a stray found at his work who was the pure essence of cat - only coming to see you when she could be bothered, or was hungry. Kids with a cat to name we naturally went for 'Tom' before finding out she was indeed a she.

A disagreement with a car and we were robbed of her, and sitting comforting her while my dad arranged to take her to the vet for the inevitable is a moment that stays with me to this day. Especially as she tried to get out of the box we had her in.

A few years later and a Border Collie pup was sprung on us. Toby was (corny though this sounds) one of my best friends. Always happy to see me, he used to come on my paper round with me. A gorgeous big bundle of energy. 5 years ago old age caught up.

Fast forward again and I move in with Mel, and I'm almost immediately adopted by her two cats (animals have always liked me for some reason). Bambi and Mecca (aka Wee Man and Fat Boy since she didn't get to name them) are both rescue cats, and until recently were house cats. They always had been before going to the rescue centre, and in the flat would sniff suspiciously at the open front door.

But we've been in our new house a year, and wandering out into the garden has become second nature. Bambi goes for wanders a little further afield, but for never more than about half an hour. Mecca just meanders around the garden eating grass (and the two of them give the chickens we have there a bit of a wide berth).

Both have permanent illnesses (Mecca here has diabetes) and cost a fortune, but I wouldn't be without either of them.

Mind you.

I'd still like a dog...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.