Adam's Images

By ajt

Gold Nib

Way back when, in primary school I was taught to write with a fountain pen and using joined up letters. A big fuss was made of this and we were tested regularly in the beauty of our writing. All the way through secondary school I was required to write with an approved fountain pen using the school's approved writing style. It was apparently very important.

At university I continued to use a fountain pen, three Parker Jotters, one for red, blue and black ink. Even though the quality of paper I could afford was closer to blotting paper than quality bond paper. After completing my exams, I continued to use a fountain pen now and then during my second degree, but my thesis was submitted typed not hand written. The observant will notice school never taught me to type.

After graduating I bought myself a Parker 45 fountain pen, jotter ball-point pen and mechanical pencil. All matching in nice shiny stainless steel with gold trim. It's about 20 years since I graduated and to be honest while I like the pen it's not much use, I've spent my whole professional life to date in front of a computer and the only reason I use a pen is to sign a typed and printed document.

Anyhow, it's cold and dark outside so I'm back on the macro trail. I've seen another pen shot here so I thought I'd have a go at one too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.