Landscape from the train

Travelling by TGV at up to 300 kilometres per hour (about 200 miles an hour) may not be the best time to try landscape photography, but this evening around Lyon the skies finally cleared as we left the grey north and as we crossed a viaduct next to a motorway I could see across it to the Rhone valley and the Alps in the distance. I've done this trip from Paris to Beziers so many times but I still feel excited as we travel further south and the landscape becomes more Mediterranean. It was dark by the time we were far enough south for me to feel I was home, but I was still able to catch sight of the occasional olive tree.

I've had a wonderful week away, not seeing any spectacular sights, but enjoying being with my family and doing some necessary work with them too, eating fantastic meals - out in restaurants and in homes - and being too busy to think much about taking photographs. It's good to visit the very different cultures of northern France, England and Wales, but it's nice to be home again in the Midi now, even if I do have to start 'real' (paid) work tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.