MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Finally Inside!

Well, Matt wasn't feeling good this morning, so we went to a hospital. While we were sitting in the doctor's office, I snuck a photo. I couldn't help it! It was a very nice private hospital, recommended by a lady at the language school. They had a customer service rep who also spoke excellent English who helped us through the initial registration and pre-consulation stages. She handed us off to the Ear, Nose, Throat doctor who spoke English with us as Matt described his symptoms. But he switched entirely to a rapid Portuguese when I said something using it, and the next half hour was spent discussing Matt's symptoms, what the doctor thought, what the doctor would prescribe, the dengue (trust me doctor, it's not that), and also the state of Brazilian hospitals, which is to say, not good. This doctor thinks they are corrupt and do not function well. Perhaps I will get to see!

It seemed clean in this private hospital though, and he DID open fresh tongue depressors, ear viewers, and nose propper-openers. He just didn't throw them away after using them... I wonder where they went?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.