The Poss

By PossMan

Former Glories

Somewhat past its prime I must have driven past this gateway and its lodge hundreds of times but never taken a picture. It's on the B9006 just after passing over the A9 on your way out of Inverness towards Culloden Moor. Looking at the map I think it must be be a former entrance to Inshes House a few hundred yards to the south-west. Inshes House itself seems to be a tower house dating from around 1600 but I don't whether it is still lived in. It's now on the far side of the A9 from here but there looks to be access from there. Certainly by the state of the drive it is no longer used much by vehicles but I don't know whether there is some sort of foot access under the A9. Must investigate when I get a chance. Martin Coventry's book The Castles of Scotland which I've just looked at says it's the site of a castle with one remaining tower and Inshes House itself, a mansion built in 1767, stands near it and is being restored. The grid square in my tags relates to this image, the house being in NH6943.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.