Let There Be Light

By solli

Goodbye Whitney

The bright afternoon sun flared from behind the New Hope Baptist Church as the wind whipped the balloons into a celebratory dance of joy.

Whitney and her mom Cissie attended this church and sang in the choir when Whitney was a young girl. It's not hard to envision the family walking up the steps thirty-five years ago to don their robes and give thankful praise to the Lord for all His blessings. It's not easy envisioning the family walking up those steps tomorrow for the final time, but it's good to know that the service will be a celebration of her life.

My husband was somewhat surprised when I told him I was at the church. But my mother was born in Newark and our family albums are filled with pictures of her posing at the corner of Broad and Market when she was 14. Her family spent their evenings singing the popular songs of the day and every one of my aunts, uncles and cousins could sing. I can't remember a time when our radio wasn't broadcasting music and mom wasn't singing. She also brought me up to be a believer, and believers know to go to the church for refuge, comfort and fellowship.

The friends, neighbors, and fans who came out to offer condolance to the Houston family left their balloons, flowers, teddy bears, candles, posters and cards on the church fence so the family knows how much their Newark girl is loved.

I placed my roses also, on behalf of my family who loved her too.

And I Shall Dwell In The House Of The Lord Forever and Ever...

More pictures of the tribute here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.